24 August 2019

Napocor awards 1.2B transmission and substation projects in Palawan, Mindoro, Marinduque, and Catanduanes

State-owned National Power Corporation (Napocor) gets the nod from the National Power Board for the award of various transmission and substation project contracts in the provinces of Palawan, Mindoro, Marinduque, and Catanduanes amounting to P 1.286 billion.

“These awarded projects will secure a more reliable and resilient transmission system to the provinces we serve. In the long run, it can also help our partner electric cooperatives in reducing their systems loss,” said Napocor President and CEO Pio J. Benavidez.

The supply and installation of the Roxas to Taytay 69 kV transmission line in Palawan which comes in two work packages was awarded to SL Development Construction Corporation (SLDCC) and DM Consunji, Inc. after successful public bidding. Package 1 will cover 36 circuit kilometers from the Roxas substation to Alimanguan while package 2 will cover 34 circuit kilometers from Alimanguan to Napocor’s substation in Taytay.

Napocor also awards the contract for the rehabilitation of the 53 km Minolo to Mamburao 69 kV transmission line to Hansei Corporation. The rehabilitation works include replacing wooden poles with steel and concrete.

The contract for the construction of another 10 MVA substation in Mogpog and rehabilitation and transfer of the existing 10 MVA substation in Boac to Mogpog in Marinduque is likewise awarded to Power Dimension, Inc. Napocor said that the completion of these projects will ensure the safe and reliable transmission of power from Boac to Torrijos load-end substation.

In improving the transmission system of Catanduanes, Napocor awarded another contract to SLDCC for the construction of 5 MVA substation in San Miguel. 

Apart from the said provinces, Napocor also operates and maintains the transmission system in Masbate. This is as mandated by EPIRA that the corporation provide associated power delivery systems in areas not connected to the main transmission grid.

In pursuit of the same mandate, Napocor also operates 276 Small Power Utilities Group (SPUG) power plants in 195 municipalities across 34 provinces in the country. END